SVHD provided support for over 1,000 community members

Teresa McClain helps community members enroll in health care coverage at the HBE Office in North Bend.

More than 1,000 uninsured community members received help enrolling in health coverage through Washington’s online enrollment center at the Health Benefit Exchange Office in North Bend. Snoqualmie Valley Hospital District provided free in-person assistance during the open enrollment period from Oct. 1, 2013 to March 31, 2014.

Teresa McClain, Certified Assister/Navigator for Washington Health Benefit Exchange and Clinic Admin. for SVH, helped community members navigate the Washington Healthplanfinder website and enroll in coverage every Monday through Thursday. Continue reading

80th Annual Meeting for the Washington State Hospital Association

Last week marked the 80th Annual Meeting for the Washington State Hospital Association with the theme of Patients First: Moving Beyond the Norms. Nearly 300 health care leaders from across the state participated in the event.

80annual_meeting1The annual meeting provides a great opportunity to honor and recognize the good work of health care leaders across the state and this year was no exception. Summit Pacific Medical Center received this year’s Community Health Leadership Award for their innovation and commitment to providing patient centered care in their new facility, which was built around the medical home model.

Kudos to Reneé Jensen and her team!

80annual_meeting2WSHA honored organizations excelling in the area of patient safety and quality with the 2013 “Safe Care in Action” award. Hospitals participating in the Partnership for Patients initiative earned the award by achieving a 40 percent reduction in harm or were in the top 10 percentile for six or more measures or for 80 percent of eligible measures in the 10 key areas.  Mason General Hospital & Family of Clinics and United General Hospital were both honored for this achievement. Congratulations Eric Moll and Greg Reed!During the annual business meeting, the membership approved the candidates for the 2013-2014 WSHA board of trustees, including the new slate of officers. Our own Julie Petersen, PMH Medical Center was unanimously approved for the position of Chair-Elect. Congratulations Julie!

WWRHCC Members Elected to WRHA Board

The Washington Rural Health Association elected new Board members at the annual membership meeting on March 20, 2013.  Newly selected for three-year terms were Jeff Johnson, Wipfli LLP; Melissa Lovell, Office of Community Health Systems; Ron DeArth, administrator of Morton General Hospital; and Cass Bilodeau, from Kadlec Health System.

WRHA Awards


Leah Layne Memorial Health Leadership Award – Winner Renee Jensen


The 26th NW Regional Rural Health conference awards ceremony honored true examples of authentic leadership, genuine dedication and commitment to the rural health community.

Dr. John Anderson Memorial Award for Outstanding Rural Health Practitioner – Winner Dr. Shawn Andrews (Left to Right: Karen Jensen, Shawn Andrews, and Renee Jensen)